Wars of the Roses – Lancastrian Army

The Lancastrians are coming! The Lancastrians are coming!

This week I completed a hobby milestone, painting the second half of my Wars of the Roses project. I now have enough units completed to play a decent game of Sword and Spear, and I couldn’t be more excited to finally get both the houses of York and Lancaster on the battlefield.

I chose to make most of the core units for both forces fairly similar, should I wish to combine or expand them in the future. The only units I put some effort into individualizing were the command characters. I chose to paint the Earl of Somerset and Henry Tudor’s colors, and based the female nobility model on a painting of Elizabeth of York.

Over the next week or two I aim to start walking through my first game, and then decide what other units to add. The great thing about having this solid core finished is now adding just a unit here or there is a lot more manageable, whilst also feeling like you’ve achieved something.

I have some ideas on running a small campaign, perhaps requiring some lesser nobility, but plan on getting a game or two under my belt in the next few weeks.

Essex Miniatures MER29 Partisan Men Essex Miniatures Mer370 Essex Miniatures Lancastrian Army Essex Miniatures Lancastrian Army

Leave a comment